Did I Ruin My Chances?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Novus, Jun 22, 2013.

1. Novus

Novus Rookie

Jun 22, 2013

Hello everyone! I’m a new poster, but a long-time lurker. I am in an interesting position and would appreciate any advice anyone has to offer.

I’ve been subbing at a school district for about 3-4 years now. I love this district: the students are great, the teachers are helpful, and I have gotten comfortable there (in the sense that I no longer feel like an outsider.) In March, a long-term sub position in my field opened up and I applied. I made it through both rounds of interviews and ended up coming in second to a woman who had not previously worked in the district. I was, however, offered a position as a Building Sub.

Wind the clocks ahead a few months, and a probationary position is available. I made it through the first round and had my second interview on Wednesday of last week. I made sure I pulled out all of the stops and was as prepared as possible; I brought the book I am currently reading, both a hard copy and digital copies (on flash drive) of my teacher portfolio, and went over as many questions as possible. At the end of the interview (which lasted about half an hour) I completed a writing sample (e-mail to a parent) and felt that went well also. The teacher who beat me out in March interviewed after me and was done before I had finished my writing sample.

The only (possible) red flag that came up in the interview was the panel asking how I believed I would make the transition from substitute teacher to full-time teacher. I explained that I would set rules and boundaries in place starting day one to make this process easier. Then, they hinted about the students being familiar with me, so I was very open and honest with them about it.