Did I already sink a teaching career?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mckbearcat48, Apr 11, 2016.

1. mckbearcat48

mckbearcat48 Cohort

Apr 11, 2016

Many of you probably have seen this exact story before, but I am feeling pretty low about the world of education right now.

I graduated in December with a Masters' in Education, and student taught last spring. After failing to come up with anything in the job market, I took on substitute teaching jobs...picking up a maternity leave job in January and a homebound instruction position as well. I am certified in English and Social Studies and have a JD as well as the MA (formerly practiced law). I also coach high school baseball as a volunteer (2nd year). Did my accepting of a substitute position sink me in terms of getting a full-time job? Academically, I received very strong reviews and letters of recommendation as well as academic honors...but none of that has helped me. I did go on a couple interviews only to find out that they hired someone with local ties to the district that was hiring.

Thanks for the read.

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Apr 11, 2016

No, you aren't sunk. Can you afford to be a substitute teacher for a while? That may make a huge difference in your future employment. I will caution you that you might not land a teaching position where you sub because they prefer to keep their pool as-is, but you never know. At the very least, I received some wonderful references from principals who couldn't hire me, good enough that I was hired.

4. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Apr 11, 2016

I don't think having subbing experience would in any way "sink" your career -- if anything, I think it would put you above someone with no experience at all. Do you have good references from those positions? I would talk up your experience in interviews with specific examples of how you showed strong teaching skills in your subbing positions and how they would apply to a new position.

5. Caesar753