Did anyone here teach through The Great Recession?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by DamienJasper, Dec 23, 2020.

1. DamienJasper

DamienJasper Rookie

Dec 23, 2020

I’m in need of...I dunno, aged wisdom and insight.

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Dec 24, 2020

Which recession are you referring to?

4. CaliforniaRPCV

CaliforniaRPCV Comrade

Dec 24, 2020

The "great recession" around the 2007 to 2009 time frame?

5. Guitart

Guitart Companion

Dec 24, 2020

No, but I worked at a bank. Not as a banker, but I worked in IT. The bank would do ANYTHING to make money and keep their big accounts. If you ever watched the old sitcom "The Beverly Hillbillies", YES, it's just like that. No wonder the big banks got in trouble. So when that day hit us, I got a front row seat when the Four Horseman of banking rode in: panic, fear, blame, and audit. "The sky is falling" is how they responded to everything. It was business as usual. Some people were let go but they were fluff jobs.. like the VP of Coffee & Donuts secretary's secretary. Lots of BS jobs like that exist in a bank. In fact, throw a rock through the front window of a bank and you'll probably hit a VP.

What's going on now is the only game changer I have ever lived through. The protocols in place are compromising lives more than 911 and terrorism ever did.

6. Pi-R-Squared

Pi-R-Squared Groupie

Dec 24, 2020

What’s the real question that you want to ask?

7. DamienJasper

DamienJasper Rookie

Dec 25, 2020

The real question I want to ask...

It's kind of...formless I suppose. General concern/despair/fear. Maybe I should focus on the now and count my blessings. Not not being something of a worry-er isn't my style and my coworkers always accuse me of being the over prepared one.