DIBELS

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by Emma35, Sep 4, 2007.

1. Emma35

Emma35 Connoisseur

Sep 4, 2007

Do you use it and what do you think about it? Our district just started using it this year and I am not sure I like it. I just wondered what others thought about it.:thanks:

3. Kinderteacher23

Kinderteacher23 Rookie

Sep 4, 2007

My district started the testing with last year's kinders. I was a kinder teacher last year and didn't really feel like the test showed what the kids know. I just DIBELed my kids today and again, I am not sure I like the test because I feel it doesn't REALLY show what the kids know.

4. eteach1

eteach1 Rookie

Sep 4, 2007

I'm not real wild about them. Our district does them every year with the kinders and first graders. I also believe that it doesn't so what most kids really know. I especially hate the Nonsense Word Fluency. I understand the belief behind it, but I don't believe it shows a child's true knowledge. The only part I somewhat appreciate is the reading.

5. Emma35

Emma35 Connoisseur

Sep 4, 2007

Both of your comments are exactly what I am thinking. Do you DIBEL each student and how often?

6. eteach1

eteach1 Rookie

Sep 4, 2007

I am lucky enough that the special ed team, psychologist, speech teacher, and sometimes the ELL teacher do the testing. The only thing I will do is the reading on my own. I know I am lucky that I don't have to do it.

However, the students are assessed in the fall, winter, and spring.

7. happyOCgirl

happyOCgirl Rookie

Sep 4, 2007