DIBELS question

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by lotusblossom, Jan 18, 2008.

1. lotusblossom

lotusblossom Companion

Jan 18, 2008

I'm a 1st yr K teacher. We just did our midyear DIBELS benchmark, and a few of my kids scored literally off the charts in Initial Sound Fluency... my highest was 120. It was 4 kids, and all were expected to be high, but my ISF scores were higher than the other teachers, and I'm afraid I did something wrong. Have you ever heard of midyear benchmark ISF scores in the 80s 90s or 100s??

3. ecsmom

ecsmom Habitué

Jan 19, 2008

Our assistants do our testing. I don't even have a clue what the test looks like. They act like it is some big secret. I don't even get to see their scores, just a list of who needs minor interventions, major interventions or are on grade level. My students who have severe speech problems scored in the major intervention range. Needless to say I am not a huge fan of DIBELS at least as it is managed at our school.

4. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Jan 19, 2008

I don't know the numbers off the top of my head, but I do know that kids that race through the test can get really high scores. So if they get through a page in a few seconds it totally bumps up their score. I had a girl in my K class who didn't actually have high ISF skills at all but continually did well on DIBELS b/c of giving answers quickly and just happening to guess right. With several pages if the kids just point to the pictures starting at the top left and continuing they'll get 3 out of 4 right. I thought it was a very lousy form of assessment! The DIBELS I gave to my 6th graders last week was much better.

5. lotusblossom

lotusblossom Companion

Jan 19, 2008

I agree, I'm not the biggest fan of DIBELS, and I think it measures speed more than skill... but I am still concerned that I somehow screwed up. For reference, the grade level score on Initial Sound Fluency would be 25 in January. So 120?! :eek:

6. SaraFirst

SaraFirst Cohort

Jan 19, 2008