DIBELS data

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by JamieLeigh, Jan 8, 2010.

1. JamieLeigh

JamieLeigh Rookie

Jan 8, 2010

This is my first year teaching, and I would like some insight on something that is bothering me right now.

Two of my students came in to kindergarten with no idea how to hold a pencil, scissors, etc. They knew 0-5 letters, very few numbers, could not count to ten- they basically knew nothing and had not been in any kind of school setting before. It was not surprising that they tested Intensive on the first round of DIBELS. At the beginning of the year, I had six students test Intensive.

We retested again at the end of November. The two students were the only two to test Intensive. However, one of them knows all of his letters, letter sounds, most of his numbers through 25, most of the high frequency words, and is just progressing very well. He is not very fast though. He likes to work at his own pace, and I know what is holding him back on DIBELS is his timing. The other child does not know as much as this one, but is still progressing fantastically (according to me anyway) in all areas considering where he started.

The problem is that because they both tested Intensive again, the Title 1 teacher, and some of my teammates are pushing me to begin the referral process to Special Ed. They said that because these children have had an extra 30 minutes of pullout reading daily (Sidewalks) that they should be further (Strategic). However, I feel that relying solely on DIBELS to make this reference would be stupid of me. When I can see (and my assessments) show that these children are making such progress, I just feel that it is too early to do this. Even my principal had said at the beginning of the year that she would be hesitant to refer any kindergartener to Special Ed. unless there is an obvious speech or language problem. I just feel that they are not developmentally ready to progress any more quickly than they already are.