Diagnosed with depression. Should I inform Admin?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by andyguitar331, Dec 3, 2014.

1. andyguitar331

andyguitar331 Rookie

Dec 3, 2014

Hello

I was just diagnosed with depression. I have been prescribed antidepressants and I have been referred to a therapist. I'm a music teacher at a 6th-12th school. I hate to use the depression as an excuse but I have not really been on top of things because of it. Should I inform administration on what is going on with m health? not in detail or anything like that. Should I let them know I'm depressed?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Dec 3, 2014

No!!

4. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Dec 3, 2014

No!

5. Pashtun

Pashtun Fanatic

Dec 3, 2014

No.

6. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Dec 3, 2014

Keep your personal life personal, and your medical details that could be used against you even more private.

7. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Dec 3, 2014

NO!!!

8. Koriemo

Koriemo Comrade

Dec 3, 2014

Nope. Get back on top of things as soon as you can, but don't tell them about anything personal. We all go through difficult seasons.

9. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Dec 3, 2014

The ONLY reason I would even consider talking to someone about this would be if the medication might have side effects that would take you out of the classroom for days at a time. It's the same way I look at my meds for my rosacea (it's a skin condition that occasionally flares up into major acne). My principal doesn't need to know I have rosacea because my meds keep it under control. If I have a flareup, it's a little embarrassing but I deal with it as best I can, and I call my doctor if I need an adjustment in my regimen.

Think of your depression as a manageable medical issue, not as a potential performance impediment.

10. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Dec 3, 2014