Detentions

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TamiJ, Apr 15, 2008.

1. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Apr 15, 2008

I'm wondering what you guys issue detentions for. I have been "threatening" to issue detentions for students who don't write complete sentences, or use correct grammar. Since I have first told my students about my new rule (detentions for not writing correctly), they have magically become really great writers. I am just so sick of the sloppiness. I am a language arts tutor, and I feel like I am not doing my job if I don't enforce conventional writing when they have been asked to so.

3. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Apr 15, 2008

That's great that it works. I would probably just make them redo the assignment if the work wasn't acceptable.

I give detentions for things like insubordination, defiance, disruptions. Lates. The most recent one lately has been saying "That's gay" after a warning, or saying other offensive language (calling people homos, F***ots, Jews). I don't tolerate that stuff.

4. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Apr 15, 2008

I try to avoid detentions if at all possible becuase they don't really do much (at least in my school). If I do give them its for reasons like silver described.

5. Loomistrout

Loomistrout Devotee

Apr 15, 2008

I'm having hard time buying idea of using a punishment, essentially part of a school's discipline code, as a stick to motivate what is essentially an instructional problem.