Desperate for advice

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by newbie12, Oct 21, 2016.

1. newbie12

newbie12 Rookie

Oct 21, 2016

Hi guys,

I'm a senior science teacher working in a very tough community (high crime, low unemployment). I have two senior classes that are completely out of control. Its become so bad that I often cry myself to sleep at night, knowing I have to see them the next day (I see each class three times a week).

The kids just do whatever they like. They come in whenever they feel, they take and break whatever they can find in the class, they spit on the floor and they get into fist fights. When I ask them to sit down and do work, they tell me to 'f__k off' and that they are going to 'f__king kill me' if I don't leave them alone. My class is made up of boys and they are all 17 and much taller and stronger than I am. I'm genuinely scared for my safety and the safety of others

The school I work at are supportive, but ineffective when it comes to addressing the situation. I report everything that happens in class, and the school readily suspends any students found to be acting inappropriately. However, the student always returns (usually after 3-7 days) and continues acting just as they did before. No remorse whatsoever. Most of my kids have been suspended 10+ this year and its done absolutely nothing to change them. They simply don't care.

I need help. I've tried everything. Detentions, calling parents. I once tried to ring the parents of one student and they just refused to believe anything I said about their son. They said the problem is that I am a "nasty b__ch." Therefore I don't call parents any more.

Sorry for the long post, but I don't know what else I can do. I've asked for help, but there doesn't seem to be much else that school can do. I don't feel that I should have to put up with being badly treated.

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Oct 21, 2016