Desk Arrangement

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by Padfoot103, Aug 18, 2011.

1. Padfoot103

Padfoot103 Rookie

Aug 18, 2011

Hello everyone! I am going to be teaching 5th grade in a leave replacement position this year. I am a relatively new teacher and have previously taught first grade, so 5th is something very new to me! I just wanted to get your opinions on how to set up the students' desks for the beginning of the year. Do you put them in groups, rows, U-shape, etc.? Thanks for the feedback!

3. AsherDasher

AsherDasher Companion

Aug 18, 2011

I arranged the desks in a U shape with the remaining desks in the middle (creating mini rows of 2 from each side of the U...if you can picture that :)) I figured it would be easier to start out with them facing the front, being a bit more structured in the beginning and then go to groups once I have a better understanding of who will work well together.

4. Learner4Life

Learner4Life Cohort

Aug 18, 2011

I usually start mine out in rows and then move to the U. I am a really big fan of the U because it frees up a little bit more space in my already tight room, but I like to get the structure of the rows in for the first couple weeks of school.

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Aug 18, 2011

I start off in groups. I want them to know right away that they will need to work together. But I also change setting and arrangements often.

6. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Aug 18, 2011

There are lots of good ways to arrange desks. I have found 2 things that are essential though.

1. Students are together either in pairs or in groups of 3 or 4. This age needs some time working together.

2. Make sure your aisles are nice and large. Make sure you can get to a student's desk quickly and easily. You'll want to walk around the room a lot with this age.

Have a great year!

7. sd7707

sd7707 New Member

Aug 21, 2011