denied tenure - collect uemployment?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by robinsky, Mar 7, 2011.

1. robinsky

robinsky Rookie

Mar 7, 2011

denied tenure - collect unemployment?

After my 2nd year as a probationary teacher I did not get tenure (long story...). I have been offered either to voluntarily resign (looks better on a resume), but I assume that means I cannot get unemployment. Does anyone know the facts about this?

3. LUCHopefulTeach

LUCHopefulTeach Habitué

Mar 7, 2011

Either you resign and cannot collect unemployment or they fail to rehire you and you can collect unemployment. It's a scare mechanism really.

4. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

Mar 7, 2011

I would ask how it will be stated to those who call for reference from your principal...some principals will say not renewed, some will say fired. Not renewed can mean lots of things...class size down, wrong certification for our needs, etc...Fired, says unable to do job. Also what are your evaluations like...if they are good, include them in your portfolio. That way if a principal says something negative, but the evaluation is positive, the future employer knows something is wrong.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Mar 7, 2011

I'm under the impression that if you resign, you cannot collect unemployment. I'm sorry that you are in this situation.

6. Cerek

Cerek Aficionado

Mar 7, 2011

Yes, it is a bit of a scare tactic.

Do NOT resign, unless you really want to quit a job. While "fired", "terminated" or "non-renewed" can be a potential black mark, I think it carries less weight in today's market because teachers across the country are facing layoffs for various reasons.

I agree you should ask how the school will record the departure on your personnel file and also ask how they will respond when called for references. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO KNOW THIS since they are the ones letting you go. Many times, facilities will only provide dates of service to avoid potential lawsuits.