Demo lesson

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by daisycakes, May 15, 2015.

1. daisycakes

daisycakes Companion

May 15, 2015

What are your experiences with demo lessons? As a new teacher, I've been actively on the market 3 times in the last 5 years. I make it to finalist status for jobs I apply to more than 80% of the time. I usually have my pick of a few job offers. However, I have never received an offer from a private school that requires a demo lesson (all of them). 4 of those were before my first year, so I see now they were never going to go with a candidate with zero experience and I was just a token finalist and 2 were since then.

One of my first demos was for a class of the principal's kids because it was summer. They ranged from grade 2 to 7 and I had to give it in a wood shop classroom. It was a mess. However, at least one from that year went smoothly. After year 2 of teaching, I was asked to prepare a lesson for first. When I arrived, they said, oops, they are on a field trip. Here is a fourth grade class. Go! And it was such a mess. I was so upset I sat in my car and sobbed for an hour before driving home. I took a day off work to come in, made manipulatives and spent hours preparing and I didn't even get to give my lesson. It felt so disrespectful and unfair and I swore I'd never do another demo again and for 3 years, each time I was asked more a demo I said no. I counter offered a visit to my own classroom or removed myself from the process entirely. Out of 2 visits to my classroom, I was offered 1 job.

This year, my dream job opened up (very elite school). They required a demo and I said okay since I really wanted it. I thought it went pretty well, but very rushed at the end. It was not a disaster by any means and I think that, given I didn't know the kids, the room or school, I did a decent job. However, I wasn't offered the position.