Demo Lesson - 7th Grade Language Arts/Writing

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by blake, Apr 19, 2014.

1. blake

blake Rookie

Apr 19, 2014

Hi everyone!

I've been reading posts on A to Z for quite some time and I finally decided to create an account! I need some help...

I have been teaching for 3 years, all as an elementary teacher. I originally wanted to be a middle school English teacher, but after searching for a year with no luck I was offered a 3rd grade position 40 miles from home and I've been there ever since. This year I applied to teach in the district where I live and went to school. It's a really prestigious district. To my surprise I was contacted by 2 principals within 3 days from this district! The schools are both 5 minutes from my house and sure beats the 80 miles round trip that I drive currently! I received one of the calls this past Wednesday from AP asking if I could come in Thursday (yes, the very next day!) to interview for a 7th grade ELA/Writing position for next year! Of course I said yes, and I went in to the interview on Thursday. I couldn't have asked for the interview to go any better. It was perfect. I walked away with a great feeling. At the end of the interview the principal said don't be surprised if I don't hear anything for a while because state testing is next week on Tuesday and Wednesday. Anyway, I drive home and have just enough time to get out of my interview clothes and I hear my phone ringing an sure enough it's the school! The AP called and said all the administrators were very impressed with me and I did an outstanding job on my interview. She asked me if there was any way I could come in on Thursday and do a sample lesson because they really liked what they heard during the interview. Of course I said yes! I'm so excited!