delicate situation

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Johnjoel, Oct 28, 2008.

1. Johnjoel

Johnjoel Companion

Oct 28, 2008

Help - i'm currently a student teacher and one of my students saw me at an Obama rally (she was there with her father). Is this bad? How do I handle this if the subject comes up in class?

3. BioAngel

BioAngel Science Teacher - Grades 3-6

Oct 28, 2008

Just be honest--- you like Obama. Make it a point that you did research and this candidate supports what you believe. Stress that your students should do THEIR research and pick a candidate that would support that they believe in. And you can leave it at that :)

Btw, my students know I'm voting for McCain. Some of them would like to vote for McCain too, others like Obama. I stressed that we were to show each other respect and discuss why each candidate would be good for our country. I made it a point of saying that while I like McCain, in other areas I would normally support Obama. I think alot of people could say the same thing.

4. Johnjoel

Johnjoel Companion

Oct 28, 2008

I agree....its just tough because until this point when students have asked, I've kept my mouth shut! I guess I can just tell them that I have a lot of respect for McCain and can understand why people would vote for him...thanks!

5. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

Oct 28, 2008

I just read an article about this. It said that teachers should appear politically nuetral to their students because it is the teachers job to give an objective view. Since she saw you at a rally she obviously knows who you favor, but I would not try ro make a big deal about it in class. If the girl has questions I would refer her to her parents.

6. runnerss

runnerss Comrade

Oct 28, 2008