Defiant Student

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ll1301, Oct 25, 2013.

1. ll1301

ll1301 Rookie

Oct 25, 2013

Hello, I am a first year teacher (1st grade) and I am having a difficult time with one student in particular. This student has mild defiant behavior...but it is literally getting worse and worse by the day. If I tell the class to sit in a straight line waiting for a bathroom break, he will be leaning against the wall, if I say no hands on the wall, he will keep 1 finger on the wall. He will slump down in his seat during class to the point where it looks like he is laying in his chair. He will randomly sit on the floor by his desk. When I ask him to do something, such as put his book away while I am teaching, I will ask to ask him 3 or 4 times and he will say in a whining/rude voice "I am" but he wont do it until he is asked another few times. He gets up and talk to other students while I am teaching, and when I tell him to sit down, he will look at me and finish whatever he was saying to his friend, and then I will tell him again and he will slowly walk back to his seat. He stands at the end of the line when we walk in the hall and walks incredibly slow, making sure he is noticed. Today, I asked him to do his work several times, and he got upset and went over to my library and took ALL the books off the shelf (about 200) and threw them on the floor. I had to call the AP to come get him.