Decorating your classroom when nothing is allowed on the walls--Ideas?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by russell506, Jul 27, 2012.

1. russell506

russell506 Rookie

Jul 27, 2012

Hi Everyone!
    This is my first year teaching (I'll be teaching K) and today I saw my room for the first time! I was so excited because it is very large and spacious, however i was quickly notified that because it is a new building there is a strict policy on preserving the walls and therefore ABSOLUTELY NOTHING can be placed on the walls. Not even an alphabet sign :(
    I do have 4 small bulletin boards but I do not think that will be enough to display student work and anchor charts made throughout the year.

I was wondering if anyone has been in this situation and was seeking your creative solutions and ideas for livening up your classroom and displaying work.

Thank you!!!

3. LMichele

LMichele Cohort

Jul 27, 2012

What about hanging hooks from the ceiling with a clothing line across the room? You could use clothespins to display student work and anchor charts.

4. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

Jul 27, 2012

In my school, most classrooms lose a whole wall to windows, so many of us have put up 3M hooks with a string to hang things using clothespins from the string! I hang anchor charts and student work up there. I also use clothespins to attach anchor charts to the window blinds. :)

Congrats on your job!!

5. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Jul 27, 2012

You should bring in some Mavalous tape for them to inspect. It don't do any damage to the walls!
    Or even Stikki Clips (hate them, but they come off easily).

Do you have many windows you can tape things to?

6. russell506

russell506 Rookie

Jul 27, 2012