Decison help!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TeachOnTheBeach, Mar 31, 2009.

1. TeachOnTheBeach

TeachOnTheBeach Rookie

Mar 31, 2009

Hello!
    I am a new teacher this year and teach 3rd grade. I am so grateful to have a job and will be staying at my school next year. :)
    Originally I was asked to stay in 3rd and today I was asked to move to 5th grade, where teachers just teach one subject. I would be teaching reading only.

I don't know what to say or do? Anyone teach only one subject? And love it?
    I am really confused and don't want to dissapoint my admin.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Mar 31, 2009

You have one year of experience in 3rd grade.

I see this as a great opportunity to prove you're a team player.

Tell them you'll be happy to teach whatever and whoever they want you to teach.

Administrators have long memories. They'll remember your team spirit when it matters.

4. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

Mar 31, 2009

I've never taught just one subject, but it does sound somewhat wonderful. Imagine being able to really focus all your efforts.

5. TeachOnTheBeach

TeachOnTheBeach Rookie

Mar 31, 2009

You are both very right!! I want to be a team player and like I said before, I am so grateful to have a job!

6. Pencil Monkey

Pencil Monkey Devotee

Mar 31, 2009

I would do it. I currently teach two subjects on a two person team. I love math and science and it really gives me a chance to concentrate on being really good at teaching my two subjects.

7. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Mar 31, 2009

I would take it if you feel comfortable teaching reading to 5th grade. You user name reminds me of the school I used to teach at in WA state. All of our Tshirts said Teach at the Beach. Oh and so did the t-shirts at a school in Maine I used to teach at. haha. I loved teaching near the beach.

8. Arky

Arky Comrade

Mar 31, 2009