Deciding whether to change from engineer to teacher

Discussion in 'General Education' started by LostEngineer, Aug 6, 2008.

1. LostEngineer

LostEngineer New Member

Aug 6, 2008

Hi Everyone! I'm new to the forum but I've been viewing for a while now. I have a question for anyone that has had a non-teaching career before they became a teacher. I'm currently an engineer of 4 years now and while I like the pay, I dislike the job. I'm considering switching to a math 7-12 teaching position. I'm really worried about making another career mistake. Has anyone made this transition? I really appreciate any input!!

3. ready2teachintx

ready2teachintx Companion

Aug 6, 2008

Hi Lost Engineer,
    Yes, I made the career change last year. This will be my 2nd year as a teacher. I used to be an accountant...boring (yawn). I am really happy now and I love working with kids and actually feeling like I do something important/make a difference in someone's life when I go to work. Yes, you will take a pay-cut....but to me it is worth it. I say go for it. Don't look back!

4. MathTeacher29

MathTeacher29 Rookie

Aug 6, 2008

Hi, I worked as a mechanical engineer for 4 years before I decided it wasn't for me. I moved from NY to NC to become a high school math teacher. When the other teachers found out I used to be an engineer they thought I was absolutely crazy. I'm going into my third year teaching, and I love it. It's so much more rewarding, every day there is something new, and if there is something you don't like in your classroom you have the control to change it. It's challenging, but when a student says something nice, it makes it all worth it. Plus if you tell the students you used to be an engineer they get really interested in what you have to say about it. You have to have a great attitude, but I say its worth it.

5. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Aug 6, 2008