December Sensory Table Ideas Needed

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by BHSHockeyMom62, Dec 1, 2006.

1. BHSHockeyMom62

BHSHockeyMom62 Rookie

Dec 1, 2006

Hi Everyone,

I am becoming brain dead!!! I have been teaching for 22 years (15 out of those 22 I have been running a family child care) When you have children for 4 consecutive years you do become brain dead for ideas! I need help for ideas of what to put in my sensory table for the month of December. I change my table each week so I need 3 ideas. I had a great month last month with ideas and this month....... I just can't think of anything (besides the packing peanuts LOL)

Any ideas anyone???

3. DizneeTeachR

DizneeTeachR Virtuoso

Dec 1, 2006

Garland/ tinsel, plastic or wooden ornaments, I would say snow, but could get messy, wrapping paper, bows, what about mittens, gloves, hats ( could do in Jan). The other one I was thinking but could get sticky & messy is the powder to make hot chocolate.

4. Butterfly4

Butterfly4 Comrade

Dec 1, 2006

I have white flour in mine right now with a few cars to drive in the "snow". Next week I will have the insta-snow stuff you can get from http://www.stevespanglerscience.com (I'm in Florida, otherwise I would use real snow if I had it). In January I make chuncks of ice with tupperware dishes, put the chuncks in the sensory table with plastic arctic animals.

5. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Dec 1, 2006

6. Xtine

Xtine Companion

Dec 1, 2006

Mine has a ton of jingle bells (400ish) in it, with magnet wands, horsehoe magnets, pipe cleaner for stringing patterns, etc. I do recommend a liner of white towel, or cotton batting in the table, since the bells banging back into to table can get annoying. :)

I'm going to make "clean mud" next.