Dealing with rude students...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Kaley12, Feb 15, 2013.

1. Kaley12

Kaley12 Companion

Feb 15, 2013

This is a bit lengthy, but I would greatly appreciate any advice.

I was wondering if anyone had any advice for dealing with rude students. I've been teaching for a few years, but this is my first year in a high school. Two of my three classes are very enjoyable, but one of my classes (grade 9) has a handful of boys that are often quite disrespectful.

This isn't to the extent that it warrants being sent to the office, but it's getting to the point where it's very frustrating and makes me really dislike being in that class for the period.

For example, the 5 or 6 boys that are being difficult are good friends and talk frequently and are very disruptive. I have a seating plan for the class, and made sure these boys are spread out. They will come in to class and try to sit next to each other, and when asked to move to their proper seats they complain loudly and make comments about how its stupid they can't sit together and make it out to be some horrible injustice. (They basically overreact to little things).

Another example is when they were given an outline for a report they are working on, there was a section that stated spelling/grammar would count. Several of them began to (loudly) moan about how that's stupid because this isn't English class and it's unfair, etc.

So like I said, these aren't huge ordeals, but it's several times every period, and it's also done in a very rude tone. I don't want to over react to the situation (they also seem quite defiant/defensive and I think it would quickly escalate), but I also don't want to put up with these comments and complaints all semester long.

I was thinking that it's happened frequently enough now that maybe a few phone calls home would help? Any other advice would be greatly appreciated :)

3. Jayneorama

Jayneorama Rookie

Feb 15, 2013