Dealing with Depression and Personal Issues as a First Year Teacher

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by newteacher101, Sep 8, 2019.

1. newteacher101

newteacher101 New Member

Sep 8, 2019

Greetings,

I am genuinely looking for advice and support, as I'm not sure I've made the right decision for my career and want to do what's best for my students and myself. Apologies in advance for the wall of text.

I am a first-year teacher in a "high-achieving" urban charter school, where I am teaching my college major content area to almost 150 sixth graders. I do not have my licensure at this point, but have taken education courses in college and was looking into going back for my masters in education. This school was one of the few in my area that offers my content area and was touted as being a school with excellent students and few behavior issues/high needs students. I thought this would be an excellent chance to flex my wings and teach.

I'm three weeks in, and it is vastly different from what I thought it would be. Not just the general first-year "Holy crap, this is what teaching is like?", but the school itself is not what I thought it would be. I was told in my interview that I'd likely have around 5% of students on IEPs/504s, but right now its more like 20%, and is still growing as more students are tested. There are also A LOT of students with behavioral issues, and while I'm seeing improvements in some classes after readjusting my classroom management strategies, other classes are becoming more disrespectful towards me, even outright making fun of me behind my back.