Dealing with death

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Miss J. Pre-K, Apr 9, 2012.

1. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Apr 9, 2012

I'm a pre-k teacher who will soon be dealing with her father's death from leukemia. He is coming home this week (he lives with me), and he has been given at most a few months. I'm not his primary caregiver, but I'll be taking some time off to spend time with him, the funeral, then helping my mother cope. While I'm devastated, of course, I'm thinking ahead to what to tell students. My students have just been through 6 weeks without our assistant because she had surgery. They know my dad was sick and that Miss J. was sad at times because her mom and dad were far away getting medicine at a hospital (chemo). They know I spent almost a week away when we had a death scare before. I'm not worried about their curriculum--my assistant taught the class before I was hired, and they've become attached to the floater who was with our class for 6 weeks. I guess I'm just worried about what to tell them that won't tramatize them. Help?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 9, 2012

With prognosis of a few months, school may be out for the summer before you have to deal with the passing of your father. Try as much as you can to concentrate on the kids' happiness, needs and progress...sometimes school can be a great respite when going through stressful situations...you teach little ones. I wouldn't be sharing too much information at this point.
    God bless and prayers for your family.:love:

4. Bengie03

Bengie03 Rookie

Apr 11, 2012