Dealing with bad evaluations

Discussion in 'General Education' started by lillycat, Jan 30, 2016.

1. lillycat

lillycat Rookie

Jan 30, 2016

My supervising principal e-mailed me to come to her office to discuss my two informal observations. She told me they were unacceptable for multiple reasons. I do know that a lot of the reasons she gave me were valid. I have gotten lazy with my planning. Some of the things she said, however, I feel were not a fair conclusion to make after observing me two times for a total of twenty five minutes on what were probably the two worst lessons I've had over the year. I've had so many good lessons compared to the two or three bad ones that have been observed.

I am trying to leave the district I'm at. I am a K-12 music teacher. I have to commute 30 miles every day during my conference period, leaving me with effectively no conference period. They are adding more and more classes for me to teach every year. I started this year K-12 at one school and K-2 at the other. After Christmas it became K-3, and I was told in this same meeting next year I would be K-5. I have one 30 minute slot with no class during the week that serves as my only planning time.

What worries me is that I'm now afraid my supervisor sees me as lazy. If I'm trying to get another job and my supervisor is giving me a bad rating, I feel like I'll never be able to leave. I don't know what to do. I have four supervising principals and am hardly ever observed. I feel like I am about to have a nervous breakdown and have barely been able to stop crying since my meeting.