Data Collection

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by krisaustin, Nov 11, 2006.

1. krisaustin

krisaustin Companion

Nov 11, 2006

I am a first year teacher and I am I having difficulty with data collection for my students' IEP goals.

My questions are:
    How do other teachers document progress towards goals?
    How do you keep it organized in an easy to use format?
    How often do you document progress?

I know that data collection is an important part of my job and I have not yet found an easy way to collect data. I have 6 students with severe disabilities, who each have at least 4 or 5 objectives for their reading and math goals. I also have some students with life skills goals, adapative behavior goals, and appropriate school behavior goals. If I collected data everyday, I would not have time to teach my students.

I would love to hear how other teachers go about documenting progress and data collection for IEP goals.

Most of my goals are stated in ___ of 5 trials.
    My other goals that are a percentage, can be documented through work samples.

3. RJN

RJN Rookie

Nov 14, 2006

Krisaustin,
    I teach a middle school Life Skills, class so some of my goals are written like yours. After about 3 other methods of keeping track of data, I finally settled on a clip board that holds a sheet for each student. My kids usually only have 2 goals, so I can fit both goals on one sheet. It states the goal, has a block for each quarter (for each benchmark) and then blocks for info for 9 weeks.
    I keep this on my desk and sometimes just grab a kid and check a goal, or schedule this for math or reading or whenever I can fit it in. I try to never write a goal that requires daily info. Usually it's weekly or two times a month. I don't know how you report your progress, but we have to do charts and graphs, so this method makes it really easy to input data when the time comes. Since you are new at this, remember to write goals that you can measure easily.