Danielson and special education

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Culturanta, Oct 26, 2015.

1. Culturanta

Culturanta Rookie

Oct 26, 2015

Just curious to hear from other high-incidence special education teachers/admins regarding the Danielson model, specifically whether or not you believe the Danielson model is appropriate for students with special needs.

My answer is "it depends" and "not every day."

My first of two Danielson based observations went really well, so I'm not here to complain, but I do believe that students with disabilities require greater scaffolding (ie; teacher directed learning) than those without disabilities. In Danielson's world this means an Excellent rating would be off the table as to reach this distinction, the teacher basically gets out of the way and entrusts the students with running the procedures of the classroom.

Unless I am misunderstanding Danielson which is possible.

I learned today, BTW, that Danielson is not a teacher by trade but an economist.

3. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Oct 26, 2015

It's possible for them to fake it, but the discussion of my kids just never goes very in depth. For example, I had an observation where my self-contained kids legitimately annotated a poem and discussed a question posed by another student, only the question was "Why is his sandwich so dry?" They are always SO literal....and miss bigger themes or inferences.

However, the rubric does not say they need to be discussing in depth....just discussing. In my observer's eyes, everything was awesome because my kids mastered a routine and led 90% of class. Whatever!

4. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Oct 27, 2015

The Denielson framework really isn't appropriate for any teacher in how it's being used, and Danielson herself never intended for her work to be used for evaluative purposes, until districts started backing Mack Trucks full of cash outside her door.

5. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Nov 1, 2015