Daily reports

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by sewsouth, Aug 29, 2008.

1. sewsouth

sewsouth Companion

Aug 29, 2008

Does anyone give out written daily reports to parents.
    Like ?????? had a great day. He is having some trouble
    holding his pencil, or ??????? would not listen even though
    I corrected him several times.

If you do what format do you use and did you make your own?

I have a parent that works and her parents will be
    dropping off and picking up her child. She wants to know
    how he is doing each day.

I have never done this before or even been asked to so I am a little unsure of how to go about this.

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

3. TeachingBee

TeachingBee New Member

Aug 29, 2008

Where I did my student teaching the center used composition books. A book was assigned for each child and once a week (mostly Friday) the books would be left in the cubby for the parents to read and either talk to the teacher if needed or make written comments. If a parent wanted a daily report, s/he would need to speak to the teacher personally at the end of each day. We had a policy of trying to phrase everything very positively and not mentioning the small stuff at all unless it became a problem where it interfered with the classroom.

Hope this helps!

4. Taliesin

Taliesin Rookie

Aug 29, 2008

I did a daily report last year but just found it to be too time consuming. I formatted it like a newsletter- it had upcoming events, reminders, our current theme, what we did for the day and a small place for me to write a personalized comment. The parents absolutely loved it but I just can't do it this year. I am switching to a weekly format. I will still have a small section to personalize it for each family.

5. vbubbles1874

vbubbles1874 Companion

Aug 29, 2008