Daily Five Expectations

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by FarFromHome, Oct 5, 2014.

1. FarFromHome

FarFromHome Connoisseur

Oct 5, 2014

I'm having some trouble with my students talking during their Daily 5 rotations (2nd grade). They will do great when I walk around or just sit and watch them. But the second I bring a group back to work with me, several students start talking. I have to keep asking them to stop so I can hear my group, which wastes a lot of time. They're also not learning during that time because of the conversations. It doesn't help that I have students coming and going a lot. I get the feeling that my grade level team thinks I'm being too picky. I don't want to lower my expectations, but I'm new to 2nd grade and Daily 5 and would love some opinions. I've tried several different things already to try to fix the problem.

What do you expect from your students? I would also love suggestions on how to fix the problem!

3. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Oct 5, 2014

I expect them to be completely quiet during Daily 5. I'm not even meeting with groups yet, because they aren't ready. I introduced choice last week, and they were able to work for three 20-minute rounds with only 1 child whispering. As soon as I heard that first whisper, I stopped the entire class, and they all started over. This week we'll continue to working on making choices, and working the whole time (quietly).