Daily Behavior Charts

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by skelley, Jun 22, 2005.

1. skelley

skelley Rookie

Jun 22, 2005

I have been teaching for 5 years. (I teach 1st grade by the way) Every year I have always used some type of daily behavior chart. I glue a list of classroom rules into one side of a manila folder and laminate it. Then each week I tape in a behavior chart. Each day the kids put all of their daily work into their folder and then turn in to me toward the end of the day. I then look over their work, fill out their behavior chart accordingly and then send home. The parents then have to initial and return the next day. I have always been a big believer in letting parents know about their child's behavior. The problem that I have run into is that often I have a parent that just can't let things go when they see that their child has a comment frequently in their folder. I think a lot of them start thinking that there is a serious problem when really, it's just petty stuff going on. Also, it's not always easy to get these ready everyday by the end of the day. I just wonder if I am creating too much work for myself. Only one other teacher and myself do daily behavior folders, everyone else in my school does weekly. The thing is I also send home a weekly progress report. My question to you all is - what do you send home and does it work? Does anyone else think that I am giving myself too much work? :eek: Thanks for the advice!

3. MelissainGA

MelissainGA Groupie

Jun 22, 2005

We have an Agenda (the county buys them). This is used to communicate with the parents and it has a place for their behavior (smiley, straight, frown). It's a very easy (and quick) communication method and parents seem to respond well. I only write a comment if there is a frowny face.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jun 22, 2005