Cushions for ADHD Students?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teach'ntx, Aug 25, 2011.

1. teach'ntx

teach'ntx Comrade

Aug 25, 2011

I am posting this in the General Education thread because I am a General Ed teacher with a student diagnosed as ADHD and mom will not give him his medication. He can not sit still for any length of time and is always walking around the class, moving, or talking. One of the other teachers said she saw cushions being used at a previous school, but I do not know of anyone who has used them.

Do the cushions work? I found some for $13 on an excercise site and I found wedge ones for $50. If a cushion has any chance of helping him focus, I will gladly shell out the $13 (not sure about the $50 yet).

TIA!!

3. waterfall

waterfall Virtuoso

Aug 25, 2011

Is it just like a regular seat cushion? For my kids, I give out special OT cushions for them to use in the regular class. They usually have bumps on top or some sort of rolling things inside of them so the student can move around on them. The whole point is that they can move on the cushion, which hopefully replaces the need to get up out of their seat or do more distracting movements. Does your special ed teacher have any of these? I didn't purchase them (they came with my room) but I bet they're really expensive. I'm not sure a regular cushion would do the same thing...it'd just feel softer, not necessarily let them move more.