Cursive!?!?!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by newteacher08, Sep 20, 2006.

1. newteacher08

newteacher08 Companion

Sep 20, 2006

Hello everyone ~ I am a college student in my senior year! I am currently working in a 4th grade classroom 2 days a week. I will student teach next year! I will be student teaching in a kindergarten room or 1st grade because those are the ages I want to work with! :love:

Today I had a wake up call.....the teacher wanted me to label all the student folders......I only print and haven’t actually written cursive since probably 4th grade.....so I start writing all their names and the teacher comes up to me to tell me that I have to write in Cursive! :sorry: I honestly didn't know what to do....I told her that I have printed ever since middle school started and I can't really even write in cursive anymore.....so I thought heck it can't be that hard I'll try.....well it wasn’t pretty.....I can't do cursive....that’s the bottom line....unless of course I take time and practice......it will have to be like teaching myself all over again.....I am 21 years old and almost done with college.....I feel so stupid! Am I honestly going to have to learn to write in cursive again to be a teacher? :confused:

Do your schools make you write in cursive for the students? I hope to be teaching K or 1st and I know they don’t write in cursive that early but you also never know what grade you will get....

3. rhassinger

rhassinger Rookie

Sep 20, 2006