Curriculum

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by MilitaryPara22, Aug 23, 2008.

1. MilitaryPara22

MilitaryPara22 Rookie

Aug 23, 2008

Hi-
    I was offered a teaching position on the first day of school and accepted. I had the rest of the week to prepare the classroom and will begin teaching this Monday. This is my first year- and I'm an alternative certification student with only having taken 3 classes. Needless to say I'm LOST!!!
    My question is, I don't understand the curriculum and how to teach the curriculum while using the text and incorporating the text and all that. I know it's a vague question, but all this curriculum stuff is confusing!
    How do I start making lesson plans??
    There are other teachers in the grade who say I can follow their lessons, but I'm often forgotten and left out... help???

3. Tetti

Tetti Rookie

Aug 23, 2008

I am in the same boat. I do have a mentor but he just tells me to do whatever I want. I couldn't believe it however I just looked at the district website and there is a scope and sequence section for each month of the year. It tells you what you should be teaching from the textbooks. I hope that helps a bit. take care

4. dovian

dovian Comrade

Aug 23, 2008

When you say "curriculum," what does that mean? Do you have something very specific, like a planning and scheduling timeline that tells you what page you should be on and when, or do you just have the list of state standards? What subject/grade are you teaching, and what text are you using? The more specific you can be, the more help we can give you :)