Curious about Mixed-ability grouping

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by studentteacher7, Mar 29, 2006.

1. studentteacher7

studentteacher7 Rookie

Mar 29, 2006

Hi I am a student teacher that is in a kindergarten class one day a week. In my class for guided reading the class is broken up into 4 groups by level. Each group reads a different book according to their level-does a picture walk, each child reads a page, then each child reads the whole book. In a way, I think grouping the students by level is good because they are not doing something that is too easy or too challenging for them. They are working on their level. They are fortunate enough to have 4 teachers to work with each group. On the other hand, if they weren't grouped by level, the students wouldn't know who is it at what level, and they could learn from each other and assist others. I am just curious if anyone using the mixed-ability grouping (where they are not broken into their levels but rather as a whole class) could tell me exactly how do you address all the students needs and abilities if they are working as one group?

3. diro.pams

diro.pams Companion

Mar 29, 2006

benefit for English Language Learners

I don't usually use mixed ability groupings for Reading/Language Arts. However, your question caused me to remember some of my classes for English Language Learners. Mixed ability groups can be very beneficial in spurring language via a Science, Math, Social Studies activities. In this type of setting, the ELL has an opportunity to pick up language in an authentic conversation AS WELL AS share some of his experience/knowledge of a subject with others.

4. k5teacher

k5teacher Rookie

Apr 1, 2006