CSET Science and Art study guides?

Discussion in 'Single Subject Tests' started by joehash, May 31, 2009.

1. joehash

joehash New Member

May 31, 2009

I'm planning on taking the CSET for Science (Biology) and Art, but I have a few questions.

First, I can't seem to find any actual guides for the Science CSET or Art CSET. I've looked in bookstores, online, etc, but can't find anything (I did find ONE, but it gets very poor reviews). It seems like they only make guides for Math, English, Multiple Subjects, and Social Science. What guides, if any, did they people around here use? What do you recommend?

My second question goes along with the first. The reason I'm taking Art and Science (which seem unrelated) is for more job options (obviously). I think ideally I would want to be an art teacher (that is what I studied in College, Animation), but in California they are cutting art programs right and left and one art teacher in my area went as far as saying NOT to try for an art position because after she retired they weren't even replacing her.

I know this is a terrible shame, but in my area (central California) this is the reality. Granted, there's still going to be SOME positions, but not many. That's where Science comes in. My second passion is Biology, and I feel that it would be almost as good as art (if not JUST as good). The only problem is, I only took a year of biology and chemistry in college. Now, I know you don't have to major in biology to pass the CSET and even be employed as a Biology teacher, but what is everyone's experience with this? I have been told that some schools want you to have taken a certain number of units (or major in the subject) in order to employ you. Is this true or is it a myth?

I feel that by taking the CSET in Art AND Biology, I would have a greater chance in landing a position. I could either teach art, or teach biology and teach art classes along with that. Any advice is appreciated! Sorry about that long post...