CSET CHEMISTRY

Discussion in 'Single Subject Tests' started by DOBY, Sep 10, 2011.

1. DOBY

DOBY Rookie

Sep 10, 2011

Hello to everyone out there studying to pass a test!!! I am studying for cset chemistry. Its been years since I took a chemistry class. I want to know who took the test already, how hard is it, what text book or material did you use or any resources you think that can help me? Please someone respond. I have seen posts on biology, earth science, I can't remember anything on chemistry. All you chemist out there or anyone who has ideas please share and help!!!!!

3. mollydoll

mollydoll Connoisseur

Sep 10, 2011

TeacherGroupie probably has some great advice, but in the meantime, I recommend MCAT study guides.

I used the physics guides for the Praxis. They are pretty thorough and probably preparing you for a tougher exam than you will actually take.

Since I was also refreshing skills when I took the chemistry Praxis, I read through the Chemistry for Dummies, and Organic Chemistry for Dummies books and made a note of the topics I was hazy on--those are the ones I worked on in my college textbooks.

4. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Sep 10, 2011

For all of the science cset tests I've taken so far (118, 119 and earth sci), I used college textbooks. I plan to pull mine out when I begin studying for the chemistry one.

Really read through the cset domains outlined in the test guide. Very helpful in figuring out what to focus on in your studies.

5. DOBY

DOBY Rookie

Sep 11, 2011

Thank you Mollydoll and Peachyness. Great advice. Yeah.. I will have to rush to the library on tuesday. The are closed sunday and monday. Any idea on the particular college book or any chem. college book is fine? MCAT study guides should be in the library too right Mollydoll?

6. DOBY

DOBY Rookie

Sep 11, 2011