Crying when breaking a rule...

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by kcbutterfly, Sep 17, 2006.

1. kcbutterfly

kcbutterfly Companion

Sep 17, 2006

I am a new K teacher. I have 3 students (all boys) that start bawling almost everytime I have to move their clip on the behavior chart ( I use a stop light type system). They know that yellow is just a warning (I also usually give a verbal warning before I move their clip to yellow also), but they still cry and throw a fit. I think they are just trying to get their way, but this has continued despite the fact that they get no sympathy from me when they cry from being moved to yellow. Has anyone else dealt with this?

3. Grammy Teacher

Grammy Teacher Virtuoso

Sep 17, 2006

If they cry when being disciplined, they are in even more trouble. I don't put up with crying being used to manipulate me and that is all they are doing to you(or trying to.) Tell them to stop their crying or they will lose another whatever it is you are doing...oh and by the way, I think "warnings" are not the answer either. I don't use any of those kinds of tactics...they do something wrong, they are removed from the activity for the rest of the day. STop being so nice. They are not treating you very nice...and you need to put a stop to their nonsense.

4. kinderkids

kinderkids Virtuoso

Sep 17, 2006

Grammy, I agree.......I often use the term "dry up" when my kids try pulling that stuff with me. I don't tolerate it at all.

5. diro.pams

diro.pams Companion

Sep 17, 2006

Woo-ee! I like that term "dry up"!!! You're tougher than I am! I always come across as the hard nose in my grade level! Kinderkids, I'm using that term next time.

6. JenPooh

JenPooh Virtuoso

Sep 18, 2006

Ditto! Crying to get out of things gets them in even more trouble. I don't tolerate it, or want to hear it for that matter. At this age, they should be over the whole temper tantrum stuff.

7. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Sep 18, 2006