Crying during transitions

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Mrs.stone 89, Oct 14, 2016.

1. Mrs.stone 89

Mrs.stone 89 New Member

Oct 14, 2016

Hello! I am a new preschool teacher, currently working on my CDA and I have a question. I have a three year old in my class who is shy and very sensitive. She is the second youngest in my class and I feel bad because all the other kids and even the teachers clearly think of her as a cry baby. She cries everyday when her mom drops her off and she cries towards the end of the day for her mom too, both are understandable since she just started about 3 weeks ago but she will also cry if she has to go to the bathroom instead of just saying she has to go. She really does cry for everything but what makes it harder is she does not communicate what is wrong she will just cry and not answer when you ask what's wrong she won't talk at all. The most you will get is a nod if you so happen to guess what upset her. She really is a sweet girl but I don't know how to make the arrival and departure time less stressful for her and how to get her to communicate her problems instead of just crying.

3. ChildWhisperer

ChildWhisperer Groupie

Oct 14, 2016

I would ignore the crying if she doesn't tell you what she wants. We don't give our kids anything unless they use their words.

As for crying at arrival and departure, she'll eventually get used to it and stop crying

4. Preschool0929

Preschool0929 Cohort

Oct 15, 2016