Crossroads

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Tornteacher, Mar 16, 2009.

1. Tornteacher

Tornteacher Rookie

Mar 16, 2009

Hello All,
    Sorry to be a complainer, but I just need to get some things off my chest! I really do not know what to do with my life. As we near the end of the school year, I find myself desperately wanting summer to get here even faster. This is my first year teaching and I can honestly say this has been the worst year of my entire life. Most of the boys in my class are miserable. Behavior wise, they just drive me up the wall. I'm absolutely exhausted every day and I DREAD every second that I have to be there. I find that weekends arent even relaxing because I spend all of Sunday depressed about being at school on Monday. Even though I know the year is coming to an end, its not coming fast enough! I just dont know how I am going to do this. I've made it this far so its ridiculous to feel this way, but I'm really out of steam here. Spring break is not for another 3 weeks and that just seems like an eternity at this point.
    Before Christmas I thought about quiting...I wanted to quit so bad but I knew I could never let myself do that. So here I am... quickly running out of steam and wondering if this is what I have for the rest of my life. I really dont even know if this is what I want to do anymore. I know this sounds terrible, but since I've been working I dont even want kids of my own anymore. I literally never want to have children! I've realized that I dont have patience like I thought I did. For next year I am hoping to teach a higher grade, but to be honest I'm not sure if teaching is even what I want to do. I don't feel passionate about it and I'm not sure if that is because I havent found the right grade level or if I really just don't like it. How do I know the difference?