Critique my cover letter

Discussion in 'General Education' started by dizzykates, Apr 4, 2011.

1. dizzykates

dizzykates Habitué

Apr 4, 2011

full name
    address
    city, state
    phone number

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing to make you aware that I am applying for the licensure advisor position available in the School of Education. I have a wide variety of experiences in the field of education and desire to use them to build a career that helps adult learners achieve their goals. I believe my background working with diverse learners combined with my ability to plan and organize both my time and priorities would make me an excellent candidate to help meet the needs of the *** School of Education.

Currently I am finishing my third year teaching at ** Elementary in **, *. I have taught full-day kindergarten the last two years, but I have a total of six years’ experience in the field of education. Many of my teaching experiences have been in classrooms with rich language experiences and many different levels of English proficiency. Given my current setting, a school with almost 80% free or reduced lunch and having about 2/3 of my class qualify for ESL services, I understand the value a strong ESL program, such as the one ** provides, has on the impact of student learning.

I have personal experience with the challenges English Language Learners face as they acquire a new language. I have studied Spanish extensively since I was 12 years old and have yet to reach true proficiency. It continues to be a passion of mine that continually reminds me of the challenge both the students and teachers face as they work towards developing fluency in a second language.