Credit Cards (A Vent)

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Chrissteeena, Apr 16, 2010.

1. Chrissteeena

Chrissteeena Companion

Apr 16, 2010

I know some people who have tons and tons and tons of credit cards; I also know some who have none.

I've had my major Citi card since 2005. It started out as a student card with a $500 limit on it and now it's up to 10,800 limit. I worked really hard to keep paying it off…… and then I had a lack of judgement (which I know is my own fault). My last semester in college I managed to put about $2,500- $3,000 on my card. It used to be that I could pay it off with what was left of my student loans, when that big bulk check came to me. Well….. ooops I graduated and forgot that I wouldnt have that big bulk check of $4500! I ended up putting even more on it with a $1100 car repair and medicine when needed. It's been at almost $6,000 for 2 years. I don't make a lot of money and can really only pay maybe $10 at most over the minimum payment, and sometimes I can't even do that. :dizzy:

Well my tax return came in today and I plan on paying off $1000 of it. Which it will finally be under $5000 (not far under- but still under) Here is what really gets me………

My APR keeps going up! I didn't even notice it before. It is at 19.740% and when I called citi today they said that it went UP again. It's now at 19.99%!!! I've never missed a payment, always paid pretty soon after the statement came out, and when I had the money… paid extra. :mad: I called to see if I could somehow get it lowered…… the lady didn't really do much for that other than put in a 'manual request that won't come back with an answer until mid- week next week.' UGH. Then she tried getting me to pay off my other cards with citi. Sure because I'm not giving them enough money already. :(