Cover letter

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by SarahJ, Dec 30, 2007.

1. SarahJ

SarahJ Companion

Dec 30, 2007

Hi

Could someone read through and crit my cover letter please?

Thanks

Sarah

To Whom It May Concern:

I am a qualified Foundation Phase teacher with several years experience in the early childcare and education field.

I am applying for a position as a Foundation Phase teacher and have attached my CV for you to peruse. I really enjoy teaching Foundation Phase as I find it exciting and fun as well as challenging. It is during these years that there is such a phenomenal rate of growth and learning and as a teacher it is a privilege to be a part of that.

Since I started working with children, I have been exposed to so many different situations and children. I’ve learnt that even though the problem is the same, each child needs an individual approach and this has assisted me in my teaching. I’ve worked with children as young as a few hours old to pre-teen; those full of life and those suffering from illness, disability and broken homes; hyperactive and introverted. I am very interested in working with children with additional learning needs and especially interested in early intervention and inclusive education.

There is so much you can teach young children, not only about their colours and numbers and nursery rhymes, but about the whole world around them and the marvellous opportunities that await them. I am looking forward to being able to help children discover a love of learning and a positive attitude to school and life.

Yours truly,

Sarah R
    <insert contact details)

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Dec 30, 2007

Hi Sarah,

It may be a regional thing, (like "colour" and "color") but I'm pretty sure that the word in the US would be "learned", not "learnt."

Also, I know it's commonly called a "CV", but you may want to look up the Latin Phrase (or ask Teachergroupie; she's sure to know) and avoid the abbreviation.