Cover letter - What do you think?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Darkhorse, Jun 28, 2011.

1. Darkhorse

Darkhorse Companion

Jun 28, 2011

Cover letter - What do you think? Update: Version 2

I am not getting interviews and I am trying to find out why. Can you critique my cover letter and let me know if that is a possible reason why?

Dear Hiring Team:

My name is Me and I would love the opportunity to interview for an elementary education position within School District X. I believe that my experience and qualifications would make a great addition to your school district. I have several years of teaching experience in kindergarten through sixth grade. Here are some of my qualifications and strengths:

Experience managing student data and achieved high test scores. In the past school years I have achieved 83% proficient or advanced in math and no unsatisfactory in reading and writing on State Test as well as demonstrating consistent gains for all students in literacy.

I foster a positive classroom environment. I use multiple classroom management and differentiations strategies to allow each student to feel confident and secure. I also send home weekly newsletters and notes to keep parents informed.

Experience with interventions and diverse students. I have worked as a building interventionist where I created individualized lesson plans using hands-on and curriculum based tools. I also have several years experience teaching in Title 1 schools.

My enthusiasm and passion for teaching are some of my best qualities. I enjoy working with a diverse team, I am flexible in my daily lessons and I am very organized in the classroom. I enjoy taking on challenges and love learning new teaching strategies.

I strive to create lessons that are engaging and interactive. I enjoy hands-on learning and teaching by inquiry. I try to make sure that my students not only know what a new topic is, but how and why it works and have the ability to apply it in any situation.