Cover Letter help, please!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by badgerbacker, Mar 19, 2007.

1. badgerbacker

badgerbacker New Member

Mar 19, 2007

Hi,
    I am a new teacher looking for a job. I really struggle writing cover letters and would love any advice you could give me. Thanks in advance!

Dear Ms. XXX:

It is with great interest that I am applying for elementary or middle school teaching positions with the XXXX Area School District. I share the district’s core values of respect, honesty, responsibility, and kindness and it would be a privilege to work for your district. I am confident that my experience and skills would be an asset to your students’ learning and development.

As a positive and dependable educator, I am able to adapt easily to change, which is key to working with students of all ages. Due to these qualities, many teachers request me when they need a substitute teacher. I am able to develop rapport with my students by getting to know them as individuals and showing an active interest in their lives. When I was student teaching my cooperating teachers commented on my strengths in these areas. As a substitute teacher, I am welcomed back by many students who value the respect I showed them when I was in their classroom.

The fact that I returned to school to earn my teaching certification demonstrates that I set goals and I am able to accomplish those with dedication. This is evidenced by my high grade point average as a returning professional pursuing a new career. As a parent, I have deep respect for the importance of education and respectful relationships with students.

I would welcome the chance to meet with you personally to further explore this possibility and my qualifications. I can be reached at my home most evenings at (xxx) xxx-xxxx.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

3. lemonhead

lemonhead Aficionado

Mar 19, 2007

Pretty good Badgerbacker!!