Cover Letter Help Please

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Oregon Teacher, May 21, 2013.

1. Oregon Teacher

Oregon Teacher Rookie

May 21, 2013

I really need some feed back on my cover letter. I have been out of the workforce for a while and would really appreciate any input. Thank you very, very much!

date

ABC, Principal
    ABC Middle School
    Street address
    City, state

Dear Mr. ABC:

I am applying for the position of Language Arts and Social Studies Middle School Teacher at ABC Middle School. I am highly qualified to teach both Social Studies and Language Arts at the middle school level, and enjoy working with this energetic age group. I am impressed with the level of importance that ABC Middle School has placed on using technology in instruction; I have also had success in using technology to assist in the educational process.

I am an experienced and creative teacher. As an ESL/Resource teacher I organized after school events to assist families in supporting their children’s academic success. As a classroom teacher I kept students engaged with creating stories, presentations, plays, and art work that helped them demonstrate their knowledge. I also organized opportunities for children to present newly gained science information to community members at a local retirement home. By using a variety of approaches to learning I have had students that were reluctant learners at the beginning of the year asking for more lessons Literature and Social Studies by the end of the year.