Cover letter critique

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by msmac21, May 31, 2014.

1. msmac21

msmac21 Companion

May 31, 2014

I have sent my cover letter to career services at the college I got my undergrad from and he says it's really good and he wouldn't make any changes. Wondering what all you guys think about it. It's a big too long but I'm not sure what I want to cut out because everything seems important! I've sent out almost 40 applications since April and have only had three interviews. Thinking maybe I can make my cover letter stand out a little more.

Here it is..

To Whom it May Concern:

I wish to be considered for any available positions in elementary or special education in your school district. I am a Pennsylvania elementary certified teacher in grades K-6. I recently completed my Master’s degree and certification in special education Pre-K-8. Currently, I teach in the ABC DISTRICT as a long-term substitute in a fifth grade learning support classroom.

As a teacher for the ABC DISTRICT, I utilize my skills and experiences in a variety of ways. Differentiating instruction occurs on a daily basis in math and language arts across varying academic levels. In math, I enjoy working with my fifth graders on operations with fractions using manipulatives and technology to meet our academic goals. A recent exciting memory for me was when a student that had been struggling with equivalent fractions began adding like fractions and said “Ms. M., this is so easy!”. Moments like that are the reasons I became a teacher.