Cover Letter Advice

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by meeestahclark, Sep 5, 2011.

1. meeestahclark

meeestahclark Rookie

Sep 5, 2011

Hey guys,

Long-time browser of the forum, first-time poster. I have been teaching for two years, and this will be my first without a job (subbing, tutoring, waiting tables to make it through). I have completely retooled my Cover Letter, and I'd love some advice! What looks good, what's weak, and what's redundant? Here it is:

Dear ____________:

This letter is to elaborate on the formalities of my attached résumé. What a resume often fails to communicate is the passion that one has for the work that he or she does, and I sincerely hope that my words can convey my love for teaching enough to be considered for the ____________ position through your interview process.

I have learned and grown considerably as a teacher during my past two years as a teacher at both Hamilton Southeastern Junior High School in Indiana and Hinkley High School in Aurora, Colorado. As a teacher at Hamilton Southeastern, I worked with an affluent junior high population, developing effective but positive behavior management skills, while creating a unique and engaging English Composition curriculum.

This past year at Hinkley High School, I acquired multiple years’ worth of experience, teaching five separate and unique subjects, including International Baccalaureate English and two levels of English as a Second Language. I have also fallen in love with the teaching of urban and disadvantaged students; it is my passion, and I want nothing more than to continue my work as an educator in an urban setting.