Cover letter advice - Does this have the "oomph" in it?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by angeltosoldiers, Jul 6, 2010.

1. angeltosoldiers

angeltosoldiers Rookie

Jul 6, 2010

Here is a new version of my cover letter. I tried to put me into the letter so that it would have that oomph factor. I did this quickly so I know there are some grammar mistakes but I want your opinion if the cover letter is attractive as in what I am saying.

Dear Prospective Employer,

I am applying for the first grade elementary position as advertised through the school district’s web site. I have six years experience working with children of all ages in which I have taught all the basic subjects. I have a Masters of Elementary Education degree and I am licensed to teach Pre-K through 5.

I am a dedicated teacher who uses different instructional techniques to reach all my students. I also use different assessments to monitor each student’s progress. In order to make sure my students succeed, I provided after-school tutoring to help them comprehend the material.

As a student teacher, I created unique and interesting lessons to reach all of my students. One unique lesson I had created was a math lesson that incorporated a token economy. In this lesson the students would earn money to buy pencils, crayons, erasers, and other items. On Fridays, students would go shopping. However, in order to buy the desired items the students had to count out the money to me. When Friday came around, the students were excited about going shopping and they were ready to count out the money because they had counted their money every day. .