Counseling for students/Support group

Discussion in 'General Education' started by sweetlatina23, Aug 19, 2010.

1. sweetlatina23

sweetlatina23 Cohort

Aug 19, 2010

So I want to start a support group after school with the upper graders 6-8 and later on I want to start something with our 3rd -5th grade group. We do not have a school counselor and there are a lot of problems at our school. Last night I was watching the new MTV show "If you really knew me." It is about how we judge others without knowing them. We are a Catholic school and I teach religion to 4th grade, so I did add my input in our religion meetings for teachers to do a support group through prayers, and so far it seems to be working. With the students it would have to be a bit more personal and different. I am not sure how I would like it to go, but I want to try something. We do not have funding to pay anyone, so its hard. I have a psychology degree and a few hours in counseling, but no experience. We have one retired principal from public schools who has a masters in counseling and she is suppose to come once a week to tutor students in reading. I asked her to help me in directing it. When I asked her another teacher had used my idea and sold it to her first. (I dont mind, I truly just want the kids to benefit from this.) What did bother me was the fact that now she will be tied up but with only ONE group of students, not the whole school. So I figured even with her guidance I might be able to start with the lower grades. Any suggestions?