Correlation between social skills..

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by GTB4GT, Jan 28, 2013.

1. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Jan 28, 2013

and academic success? What does the research say about this? In mulling over my students, it appears that the ones who perform better (assesment wise) also appear to have better "social" and "interpersonal" skills.while not a perfect correlation it appears that the two sets of skills are strongly linked.

I am a new teacher but entering the profession via a nontraditional approach. What does the research say about this? Or are my observations unduly biased? (i.e. I think the "better" students "behave" better when perhaps they really don't).
    as always, any comments/feedback greatly appreciated.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 28, 2013

It seems to me that high function in interpersonal skills probably hangs on a combination of give-and-take (which requires the ability to juggle various strategies and to take varying viewpoints into account) and monitoring for subtle clues. These abilities could certainly generalize to academic skills and vice versa. That they don't reliably generalize helps explain that the biggest tantrum about not having gotten the right answer generally belongs to the gifted-and-talented kid.

4. a2z

a2z Maven

Jan 28, 2013

I would like some clarification. In the first paragraph you talk about "social" and "interpersonal" skills being strong. The second paragraph you state that you think the "better" students "behave" better.

I'm not convinced these skills are as strongly linked as you think unless you are really meaning compliance in the classroom or always applying social skills within the expectations of a classroom. Having them and using them are two different things.

5. PolarBear

PolarBear Rookie

Jan 28, 2013