Copyrighting your work?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Rox, Jul 3, 2010.

1. Rox

Rox Cohort

Jul 3, 2010

I saw a worksheet that another teacher had made on her computer. At the bottom it had the copyright symbol and her name. It made me think about whether I should be copyrighting worksheets that I make? Although I doubt it would ever happen, I would be upset if somebody used my worksheets to make a profit from it. However, as a teacher, I feel that if I made something that made another teacher's job easier, I'd rather they have it to use/copy/do whatever they want with it.

What are your thoughts? Do you ever copyright your worksheets that you make?

3. Chrissteeena

Chrissteeena Companion

Jul 3, 2010

I put the © and my name on my short stories, poems, etc. But from what my boyfriend has told me, your work is copyrighted to you as soon as you write it down/type it out.

4. Lynnnn725

Lynnnn725 Connoisseur

Jul 3, 2010

I live my teaching life by the motto "Beg, Borrow and Steal."

The whole copyright thing doesn't mesh with my motto.

5. dr.gator

dr.gator Comrade

Jul 4, 2010

We have a teacher who does that. When she puts the symbol and her name on those papers it makes me not even want to use her stuff. I don't know, it just gives me a "bad" feeling. I may be totally off here, but that's just my thought. Honestly, I don't really care if that teacher puts it on her paper or not, but when she hands it to me to use, it just doesn't feel right.

6. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Jul 4, 2010

I wouldn't for classwork kinds of things, but for stories/poems or teaching materials (i.e. instructions that another teacher would follow) I probably would.

7. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jul 4, 2010

Objecting to the copyright notice on a worksheet is like insisting that the teacher who originated the worksheet has no right to decide to whom she'll give it.

8. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Jul 4, 2010

:eek:

9. oldfashioned

oldfashioned Comrade