Coping with ineffective administrator- glad for help

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Kippers, Feb 17, 2019.

1. Kippers

Kippers Companion

Feb 17, 2019

I am an elementary special education teacher. I believe I have the full support of my school principal- she has said so. My issue is the assistant principal.
    The AP has been put in charge of special ed. for the past few years and he is a mess. He has not learned the basics, and we have a school psychologist who is known to be the worst in the district. I know I am sounding very negative and passing blame. Psychologist will soon retire. Together, they have made me very stressed and I did complain to principal- I never do this- but I lost it.
    This week, assistant principal told a parent, whose child was on a two-day on campus suspension for physically assaulting others- that he left it up to me and I didn't want their child at the Valentine's Day party. He allowed another student to attempt to elope from campus and made no attempt to contact me or parent. He told the parent of another child, the name of a child who was suspected of hurting her child when I was in a meeting. He repeated the name several times.
    I have the kiddos with the highest needs at our school site- including some major behaviors. Things fall apart- to my dismay- when I'm not in the room- and do pretty well when I'm there. I've worked really hard on building strong relationships with every child and their parents. We have a strong degree of trust and teamwork, and his involvement is undermining this.
    I've heard him quietly tell my kiddos "be a good girl/boy, and I'll give you a prize at the end of the day." This is usually after a major behavior- like throwing a chair or desk. Almost all major behavior occurs when I am out in meetings.
    I realize now that he really doesn't know what he is doing- at all. How do you deal with someone who is ineffective- but could potentially be damaging- who is in administration.